January 9, 2017: Hilo Firmware 8 Updater Available

Forum LockedLynx Hilo and Pro Tools

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Caracal
Caracal

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Lynx Hilo and Pro Tools
    Posted: January/23/2016 at 8:34am
I have been using the Lynx Hilo for about three years.  For what it does, there is no equal IMHO.  It is a fantastic unit overall.  There has been an ongoing issue however that I have been hoping/waiting on a fix for.  I will randomly receive the following error message. 

"Pro Tools could not initialize the ASIO Lynx Hilo USB.  Please make sure that the device has been configured correctly."

The message will appear when I start up Pro Tools, or worse, in the middle of a session.  A work around is to restart Pro Tools.  I have also read that I can reset the sample rate in the sound settings.  I have been patiently waiting for a "real" fix.  I have never experienced this with any other interface.  I have read where this is no longer an issue if I use Thunderbolt.  This is an unacceptable fix for me given the cost.  I don't think it's fair for me as a user of a $2600 piece of gear to spend an additional $600 on what to me should be be a driver update.

Are there plans to fix this problem?  Why do other interfaces not have this issue? For the record, I have been having this problem with Windows 7/8.1/10, running Pro Tools 10/11/12.  I have all the latest Hilo updates.  Please advise.  This is a real nuisance, which is making me think about looking at other units.

Edited by Alrod - January/26/2016 at 8:12pm
Alrod View Drop Down
Caracal
Caracal

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January/25/2016 at 11:10am
Bump.  It would be nice to get a response from Lynx on this.
PaulTech View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January/26/2016 at 4:45pm